Thursday, February 14, 2008

What is YOUR Love Language?

Rachel Anne at Home Sanctuary brings to mind something that I've known about for a while, but haven't thought about in a while. Gary Chapman has written several books on the love languages. You can see her blog on the subject here.

Here are the languages:

Quality Time: focused attention, sharing, talking, shared activities
Gift-Giving: visual symbols of love
Physical Touch and Affection: hugs, pats, hand-holding, etc.
Words of Affirmation: verbal appreciation, encouragement
Acts of Service: serving in a sacrificial way

Each one of us has our own love language, that is...the types of things that make us feel loved. Most of the time we show love to other in the way that we feel loved. For example, I have a friend who loves to give gifts. She shows her love to her family and friends by giving expensive as she can afford. she also loves to receive gifts. Her love language is definitely gift-giving. Me? I'm not so big on gifts. Quality time is my big thing. A second language for me is Acts of Service. But I love spending time with those I love! Real quality time! Take this
30 second quiz to figure out the love languages of those you love!

2 love notes to me!:

Disha said...

i too believe in spending quality time with the loved ones, gifts are important but nothing in compare to your presence....

seattle clan said...

Hey Jen,

I love your blog. You have so many ideas and they're all fun to read. My love language is words of affirmation, most of the time. After reading the book on love languages, it really opened my eyes to how to love Trevor best and my girls. Have a great day!!! Kari